Berry Hill has a Commission-Manager form of government. The city’s governing body is the Board of Commissioners, which appoints the City Manager, who is the city’s chief administrative officer.

Board Of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners exercises legislative functions such as establishing policy, passing ordinances and resolutions, approving budgets and appropriations, and developing an overall vision and direction for the city.  The Board appoints the City Manager and City Judge, as well as most members of the city's various boards and commissions.

Berry Hill has three Commissioners elected to staggered four-year terms. Non-partisan commission elections are held in even numbered years. Following each election, the Commission selects one of its members to serve as Mayor and one to serve as Vice-Mayor until the next regular election. The Mayor presides over Commission meetings and has full voting privileges.

Mayor Mike Galehouse has served on the Board since 2014. He was Vice-Mayor from April 2016 to August 2017 when he succeeded Beth Sartain as Mayor upon her relocation from Berry Hill.  Vice-Mayor Greg Mabey was elected to the Board in 2016 and elected Vice-Mayor in August, 2017.  Commissioner Dennis Sheffield was appointed in August, 2017, to fill Mayor Sartain's unexpired term. 

The Board of Commissioners meets the second Monday of each month at 7:00 pm at Berry Hill City Hall.

 Commissioner Galehouse                   Mabey Headshot
         Mayor Mike Galehouse                                         Vice-Mayor Greg Mabey

City Manager

The City Manager oversees the administrative operations of the city, implements the policies of the Board of Commissioners and provides research and advice to assist in decision making.  The City Manager is responsible for directing the city's financial affairs, purchasing, personnel decisions, and enforcement of ordinances and regulations.  

City Manager

Joe Baker
698 Thompson Lane
Nashville, TN 37204
Phone: (615) 292-5531

Joe Baker